Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
Tom
6 posts
Saner .emacs config? Or all features in Atom?
I am new to the church of GNU and Casey's .emacs file just rubs me the wrong way. I love the feature where I can jump from error to error after a compile .. but the rest, oh boy! :P

I would love to have more common ctrl x,c,v and z for cut, copy, paste and undo and some other shortcuts I would like to change to something I find more sane.
Can someone post the needed changes and check if they break anything?

Emacs newb needs help!(probably from some wise bearded RMS-esqe oldschool hacker)

Thanks!

PS. Or you guys just post your changes to your .emacs so I can see what might make my experience more bearable.
cap
Cap Petschulat
2 posts
While I understand the desire to map emacs to concepts you're used to, this might lead to more frustration than enlightenment. The emacs kill ring is pretty useful, but it doesn't work quite like normal cut and paste. I'd actually suggest going the other way: don't rebind anything, spend an hour with a standard emacs tutorial using standard keybindings, practice those for a few days, and _then_ start rebinding keys once you understand what's going on. I would almost say this is the compression-oriented approach to learning an editor: write against the base system directly until you know what you want to change, and only then build your own abstractions on top.
Tom
6 posts
Well, if emacs were the only editor I would use that might make sense, but it isn't and if everybody would do as you say Casey wouldn't have ended up with his .emacs file, wouldn't he?
The good thing about flexible tools is that you can bend them to your liking, but sometimes that bending is a little more involved than one might want and that is what I was asking about. At the moment my desire to learn lisp and understand the .emacs file is limited.

Nobody able to make these changes with confidence? It would a great help (and I guess not just for me)
Christopher Fedor
3 posts