Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
Matt Ross
3 posts
How many devs here?
I thought it might be interesting to see how many people watching along are already developers (professionally or not).

I'm a developer for my day job and for fun too. I even have a few things on GitHub that seem to be useful (TaskBoard is my current best project).

I've done game development for fun, including a JS engine I don't maintain anymore. I really only have one game that was ever released, and that only because it was a Ludum Dare entry.

How about everyone else?
9 posts
How many devs here?
I'm also a developer professionally and for fun (GitHub), in near equal amounts of time. I don't work on any games professionally, and I'm rarely under real time constraints, so Handmade Hero is solidly outside my normal domain. I've participated in some game contests (7DRL, Ludum Dare), but those were simple games compared to this. So watching Casey has been very educational. Being a Linux guy, I've also barely used Win32, so it's been educational in that respect, too.
Zac
1 posts
Computer Scientist from Western Australia.
How many devs here?
I'm a Computing Student currently at University, so I guess I can't really say I'm a real developer yet, but...
29 posts
How many devs here?
I'm a PhD in computer science. Whether that counts as a developer is up to you :)

One question that has been on my mind however, is how approachable this series is for people with little previous experience of programming. I'm more or less familiar with every C thingy that is being explained (but don't know anything about the low-level audio/video APIs or how to properly architecture game logic). Still, even with this "foundational" knowledge, I find the videos pretty hard to follow sometimes (Casey's just thinking faster than me).

I also wonder if there really are people who are typing the code along with the stream, as suggested by Casey at the begin of almost all videos. It would seem like a pretty amazing feat to me.