Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
Tim F. Hans
1 posts
How many devs here?
Greetings - first of all - from Germany!

I get started watching Handmadehero since some weeks - 4 or 5 - and I love it. I am coding as a job (C, PHP, PL/SQL and other stuff) and for fun. I think you can everytime learn something more. I started as I were 10 years old with a Schneider CPC 464 - you know that "machine" in the US?! ;) Start learning coding on Basic and make first steps in CP/M. After that all the time the only thing I were really interested in is coding - how things work. So I start learning C and some C++ on Windows with OpenGl.
As a job I am a developer for Laboratory Information Systems on Oracle Base. For me it is amazing how many things I already know when I watch the tutorials from HMH and the same time learn so much. It is amazing - and absolutely fun. And I like it when Casey speak about old times - better OS like Linux and Unix, because I like to use them for private most ;)

...so enough for now. Greetings to you all and have a nice holiday time and a good "slip into the new year" as we use to say in Germany!! :)
Chris
5 posts
How many devs here?
My first brush with programming was typing in code from Nibble magazine into the family Apple IIe. Then I went on to learning qbase then C/C++.

These days I do regular work in php,js etc. and some Unity programming in C# on the side.

One thing I really like about Handmade (and Blow's new language, since the mindsets are quite similar) is the tearing down of principles and dogmas I'd kind of absorbed and adopted over the years. Stuff like RAII for example. There's so much to learn about performant, low-level code.

Really looking forward to the future of this project!
Karl Kirch
18 posts
How many devs here?
Backend dev here, mainly in jvm land, but also some fullstack web dev, but never really delved into game dev much. Overall still a rookie to everything (only been doing this for 5 years).