Handmade Hero»Forums»Game
Ric
2 posts
Day 004 - Gradient renderer not working properly
Edited by Ric on

I've recently started following along the Handmade Hero series to improve my programming knowledge and learn about game engines (I'm not a complete beginner when it comes to C but i can't say that i'm good with it, im able to follow along the series and read documentations in case i dont understand some stuff, but sometimes i find myself lost as english is not my primary language) and as i compiled and run the code after following along, i've noticed that my rendered is completely off.

image.png

I don't know if this is caused by my Laptop but it should atleast cover up the whole window.

If i shrink and resize the window enough, it gets like this: image.png

I've tried changing the code a bit by swapping Window and Bitmap (Which shouldnt work), and the rendering comes out like that:

image.png

image.png

This is still wrong since the rendering is now smeared and not just many squares filling up the window, but then if i resize:

image.png

I don't understand whats wrong in the code since i've followed along the video but i suppose it has something to do with the Width and Height of either the Window or Bitmap, or maybe it's just the Renderer's loop thats written wrong and i can't see where, this is the pastebin of the code:

https://pastebin.com/t59gXve9

Also i'd really appreciate it if any of you could better explain to me how the Renderer's loop works, i dont fully understand the whole Row and Pitch thing

Or like why the Bitmap is the destination and Window is the Source in this function image.png

Sorry in advance if my explanation isn't clear and thanks for the answers!

Simon Anciaux
1341 posts
Edited by Simon Anciaux on

There is an issue with the way you call Win32ResizeDIBSection. Your parameters are declared as int height, int width but you call it Win32ResizeDIBSection(width, height); (in WM_SIZE).