Handmade Hero»Forums»Game
5 posts
Question About the Games Industry
Edited by Abdo on Reason: Initial post
I'm a computer engineering student and really like exploring the technology behind video games. One of the biggest turning points for me, in terms of approaching the development of low-level systems, is learning about why the OOP features in C++ (as an example) might not be the best idea ever. I personally have experience in writing code in an OOP way and then in a compression oriented way using C, I can say with absolute certainty that the latter is the better way to go (at least for me) because it teaches you to be messy with your code while finding the solution, then optimizing and hardening the system later on when it actually works, instead of starting of by worrying about classes, abstractions and inheritance relations. Having said that, I noticed that in several job listings, open source engines and other resources, OOP is mainly considered the best way to go in the games industry and no matter how much I searched there doesn't seem to be a clear starting point to adopting OOP in the games industry, does anyone have an idea of why OOP started spreading in the games industry and perhaps also the technical reasonings that justify that?
Simon Anciaux
1337 posts

I wasn't programming at the time but I always thought that in the 90's when Java came around, a lot of people started using OOP (or at least the idea of using it spread) and that's when 3d engines started to develop a lot and by consequence OOP started to be used in games to different degree. If I remember correctly, the Doom 3 source code use objects but the code is not object oriented. On the other side, the source engine seems (the last time I look at their sdk) to go all the way OOP (maybe not the core engine, but the gameplay code).