Handmade Hero»Forums»Game
Christopher B.
1 posts
Learning c and windows programming.
Handmade hero, does it get easier?
Edited by Christopher B. on Reason: Initial post
Hello, I've been trying to learn from the handmade hero archives. It seems to have gotten pretty deep pretty fast by say the 10th to the 26th episode. Honestly, it's going over my head a bit. Do things get clearer as it goes?
I have some c++ and c experience and a tad of windows programming but honestly, a lot of knowledge is dropping throughout the videos very quickly(like a ton of bricks).
Patrik
2 posts
Yes and no. It gets easier the more you do it, the more experience you get. Just like a test for school or playing piano, you need to practice. If you just watch Casey do it once, you will forget how to do it quite quickly. For example, I never really learned how he did fonts. I did watch the episodes, but I couldn't implement it myself from memory. I did watch the OpenGL stuff quite a bit, I could probably make a quick screen with a rotating textured cube from memory in an hour / a couple of hours or so.
Oliver Marsh
193 posts / 1 project
Olster1.github.io
Edited by Oliver Marsh on
i think you get better as you go and that makes it easier, but there is a ton of knowledge to absorb, and it can be mentally draining, kind of like learning a new voice language. i watched till about 230 pretty rigoursly, taking notes, & coding along. i think the more seperate experiments you do the better you get, and sometimes having a go at doing things different to casey and seeing how you could approach things differently. pretty much develop your own style as you go. also think in terms of return on investment, you can sink a lot of time into watching episodes, so watch as long as you’re getting enough out of them. as you get better, this might be skipping to different sections or combing the episode annotations.
Jason
235 posts
Edited by Jason on