Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
Dusan Drevicky
3 posts
Alternative to inheritance
I have a renderer that renders a list of GraphicsModels(these contain the vertex, instance and index buffers stored on the GPU). Additionally, some of these GraphicsModels have their content updated on a separate worker thread. I therefore use a mutex as a part of this structure, so that it can be locked when the GraphicsModel is being updated or drawn.

However not all GraphicsModels are updated in a different thread so not all of them require a mutex. I guess the standard OOP way of solving this would be to create a GraphicsModel class and a descended MutexedGraphicsModel class with the second one containing the mutex.

What is the alternative for doing this if you would like to avoid OOP? Is it the fabled 'entity-based component system' that I am not supposed to invoke? :) Thanks.
andrea
12 posts
Wait for someone more knowledgeable than me (I'm just a humble student, but I'm committing my thoughts to see if they make any sense).
I think you can just store an enum for each object (ToProcess, Locked, Processed) and do an interlocked exchange on that value (that is pretty free compared to a mutexand inheritance overhead, I suppose).
Mārtiņš Možeiko
2559 posts / 2 projects
Edited by Mārtiņš Možeiko on
@pseudomarvin: If you use mutex, then how about if statement?
if (NeedToLock) Lock(&Mutex);
DoWork();
if (NeedToLock) Unlock(&Mutex);

@quien: using interlocked operations individually for each variable won't guarantee atomic operation on whole block that operates with these variables. Whole algorithm must be rewritten to work using interlocked operations. Sometimes it is a very complex change.
andrea
12 posts
I was assuming that no more than a thread needs to work on the same object at a time, in that case a simple check if the exchange returned ToProcess would be enough I guess?
Mārtiņš Možeiko
2559 posts / 2 projects