Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
Mox
32 posts
How to practice programming
Hi,

I was really enjoying the HandmadeCon. And there were a lot of things that were really good. One of those things was that Mike Acton was suggesting that every programmer should be practicing coding to improve. This really hit home and I got to thinking how I should do this. So maybe we could list some ways to practice in this topic.

Let me start by saying that I'm not a game programmer by trade. I don't even program C on a daily basis. So in a way, every coding session I do in C, I kind of see as practice. So my hobby project of making a game is practice in my book ;)
But I do get his point about throwing away your progress after your practice session, so you can start fresh the next time. Instead of it turning into a project.

I just don't really see myself coding the same thing every day for 30 minutes and erasing the result. Just to do it again the next day. But maybe it is something I should try to find out if it has any merit.

Another way of practicing that I could see myself doing is Project Euler. These are seperate programming problems. Most of them mathematical. I've already done some in the past, but am thinking of doing more of them. And I will probably switch to C, in order to get maximum effect.

This is more goal oriented, which could help me to keep going. It also helps practicing analytic skills, as most problems require you to analyse the subject and delve into the details, before you can really find an algorithm.

So what do you think about practice?

Mox
BrokenOpCode
6 posts
Edited by BrokenOpCode on
+1 for Project Euler.

Some other ideas:

Use your favorite algorithm textbook or website and randomly select an algorithm to implement. First challenge is to write a program to do the random selection :)