Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
2 posts
[Probably done to death] Member functions...
Edited by Goobley on
Hey,

(I have read the other OOP topics on this forum, and elsewhere, but none of them seemed to answer this question)

I've been working in C++ for about 8 years at this point and following handmade hero since day 1. I agree that OOP methodologies are plain bad, and I haven't used "proper" OOP in my code in several years at this point. I first started to abandon OOP after reading about the visitor pattern and how insane it seems to need to do that.

In the past couple of years I've oscillated between simple modular class-based design (when I'm required to for work, because principle of least design in the codebase), what I call "pragmatic oriented" where things are arranged in structs with no private members, but also using Constructors/Destructors and Member functions when the first argument would essentially only be a pointer to the data (thus exposing the API and the data to the user whilst leaving them free to do whatever else they want), and Casey's compression/data oriented style.

I feel most comfortable in what I call "pragmatic", since I feel constructors and destructors (when used sensibly) can significantly improve readability and safety of code (and they're perfectly usable in a PushStruct scenario like Casey uses), and I see no reason why a function that just takes a pointer to a data-type shouldn't just receive this implicitly as "this".

Is the reason that this is avoided primarily due to not wanting to spend the time updating the headers and making "refactoring"/compression harder? I feel like I must be missing something bigger in the avoidance of this style, and I'd be intrigued to know what it is.

Enlightenment would be appreciated,
Cheers!
Joel Davis
20 posts
Use what works for you. I mean, dogmatically rejecting OOP is just as bad as dogmatically requiring it.