Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
Awais Ahmad
11 posts
Using VS instead of a Text Editor
Hi,

I have been trying to follow along with the series but everyday I have to give up after 10~15 mins as I am not used to using a text editor and Casey is pretty fast. I am new to programming and prefer using Visual studio editor as it gives intellisense which makes things easier to type and navigate(just a personal preference). I want to set up the project in VS so that I set it up exactly as Casey's bat file but I am a bit overwhelmed by all the settings VS asks you to do. Is there anyone who has set up a VS project that can help me with the settings ?
Benjamin Kloster
48 posts
I don't have VS handy right now, but instead of convincing the IDE to build the solution with the exact same settings, you can add the build.bat as an "External Tool" and run that instead. This is for some older version of VS, but it looks like it could serve as a starting point.
Awais Ahmad
11 posts
Thank you for the quick reply. I have been looking into that solution(makefile) as well. I found something similar in the forum but I cant even get that to work. It appears to be fairly simple to set up but when I try to compile it cannot find the win32_handmade.cpp. There appears to be some location resolution problem that I cant seem to figure out.
Benjamin Kloster
48 posts
That sounds like the working directory isn't set correctly. From the screenshots in the article I linked, it looks like VS calls this "Initial Directory". I can't remember off the top of my head what the correct working directory for Casey's build.bat is, but I think it's either the root directory of the project (e.g. "W:\handmade") or the code subdirectory ("W:\handmade\code").
Awais Ahmad
11 posts
Thanks for the hint, I will look what I can find.
Furkan
6 posts