Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
7 posts
Casey Muratori against the Standard Library

I do apologize for my lack of knowledge in advance. Recently I started programming, and I was casually browsing Casey Muratori twitter, in one post he expressed his dislike for the standard library. The post: https://twitter.com/cmuratori/status/1402555611900911619

So in his opinion programmers shouldn't use iostream, queue etc... Can you explain me in words that a beginner can understand, why he is so against it? Also, how would you print out text or use arrays and integers without a library?

Mārtiņš Možeiko
2559 posts / 2 projects

Thing about relying on libraries is that you are adding extra dependency to your code. If it works and reduces amount of work you need to do - great. But often opposite happens, many times you don't know how exactly things are implemented in library and whatever you can know is available in poor documentation. Sometimes library has a bug on some strange edge condition that you cannot fix. Sometimes it is not flexible enough and does not offer exactly functionality you need. And another important point - sometimes implementation changes due to compiler version upgrade and then your assumptions/code may stop working.

Historically it happened that "standard" library in C/C++ was in not the best quality. It offers poor abstraction over native OS functionality, and the more modern OS'es become, the more ancient standard library becomes and does not offer way to interact with OS in performant way.

In early C++ days STL library was very different across compilers/OS'es. Relying on it means that sometimes your code works a bit differently - either in performance, or in memory usage. It can be come very hard to write reliable code this way.