Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
2 posts
What do you use to make a website?
I'm a huge fan of Casey and this series and I find myself nodding in agreement constantly to his rants. I now find the wide spread love-affair with OOP in programming circles really weird at this point. My question is what do you use or think is a good idea for doing web programming?

I'm thinking two layers here. In some regards I want something that's "good enough" where I can take some sort of HTML-ish template with variables and easily create pages and then some sort of script or whatever where programming logic can be applied to the page. And on the other hand I'd like to have some sort of long term goal in doing them in C since that's where I'm most comfortable, but that might not be too conducive to quickly getting a site up now.

I have some past experience with using PHP and twig, which maybe I should just use that because I can? Or maybe python or Go would be a better option (PHP was a mess from what I can recall).

Or is doing something in C maybe not as difficult as it may seem? I've looked at Onion some but it still seems like I'd have to put some up front investment in learning exactly how it works, and who knows if it's any good.

Anyway, at this point I'm just thinking out loud. I'm mostly just wondering the opinions of people who have a similar philosophy and isn't enamored with the Javascript framework flavor of the month (although if there's a good option out there then I'm not opposed). Thanks for your time!
Asaf Gartner
64 posts / 2 projects
Handmade Network Staff
You can configure Apache (or any other web server) to run your exe via CGI. Then you just have to write the response to stdout.
Not sure if that's what you're asking though.
Bill Strong
50 posts