Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
27 posts
Need some help with getting Vim to run a build.bat
Edited by mojobojo on
I need someone experienced in Vim to help me out if its not too much trouble. I just started using Vim a few days ago so I am not too experienced. I want to get Vim to do with what Casey does with Emacs. Scan for a build.bat file and run it.

EDIT:

Right now it just runs the batch file that the directory I used cd to go to. The batch file sets up the VC vars every build. I set F5 and F6 to traverse through the errors. Right now cw just opens the file the first error is in which is annoying, maybe someone knows if I can still open the output without it jumping to the first error.

Figured it out a little bit. So far this is what I got.
function! DoBuildBatchFile()
    set makeprg=build.bat
    set errorformat=%f(%l):\ %m
    silent make
    cw
    echo 'Build Complete'
endfunction

nnoremap <F7> <C-O>:call DoBuildBatchFile()<CR>

"Go to next error
nnoremap <F6> <C-O>:cn<CR>
"Go to previous error
nnoremap <F5> <C-O>:cp<CR>
Aidan
12 posts
I've had pretty much the same solution as you for a while now, just look in the current directory for build.bat and run it. Been meaning to improve my own handling for a while now and this seemed like as good a time as any to work on it.

I've only been using vim for about a year, so I'm definitely no vimscript expert, but this snippet should get you what Casey described as his Emacs behaviour. It starts in the directory of the currently focused file and looks up directories until it hits the top level or finds a build.bat.

function BuildProject()
    "save the current working directory so we can come back
    let l:starting_directory = getcwd()

"get the directory of the currently focused file
    let l:curr_directory = expand('%:p:h')
    "move to the current file
    execute "cd " . l:curr_directory

while 1
        "check if build.bat exists in the current directory
        if filereadable("build.bat")