Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
17 posts
Hi, I'm bewwys I'm a student at the 42 codingschool . I'm glad to be here. I'm a noob so please take care of me :)
Ocaml Garbage Collector
Edited by bewwys on Reason: Initial post
Hi,

It seems that Garbage Collector is a bad thing here. Which I agree.
But I found the way Ocaml handle GC is interesting.

Because I'm not an expert on it I'm looking for your opinions about it.

thanks.
Mārtiņš Možeiko
2559 posts / 2 projects
Ocaml Garbage Collector
Edited by Mārtiņš Možeiko on
I'm not familiar with ocaml, but I'm pretty sure .NET garbage collector is more interesting, much more advanced and faster.

Why you find ocaml GC interesting? How does it work?

How does it solve problem of suddenly taking >16msec and missing my frame?
17 posts
Hi, I'm bewwys I'm a student at the 42 codingschool . I'm glad to be here. I'm a noob so please take care of me :)
Ocaml Garbage Collector
Basically, it has a minor heap and major heap where objects are deallocated in blocks. Objects have a lifetime management cycle. the minor heap gets deallocated more frequently than the major heap (which contains objects that have survived from the minor heap). I believe that objects with no longer life gets deallocated when the heap is full but take it with a grain of salt.

Honestly, I don't really know if it does solve the problem that you have exposed to me. I'm a rookie it is why I'm asking to more experimented guys.

this is from the doc
--------------------

When there isn’t enough memory available to satisfy an allocation request from the pool of allocated heap blocks, the runtime system invokes the garbage collector (GC). An OCaml program can’t explicitly free a value when it is done with it. Instead, the GC regularly determines which values are live and which values are dead, i.e., no longer in use. Dead values are collected and their memory made available for reuse by the application.