Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
Miguel Lechón
78 posts / 2 projects
Interdepencies of coding practices
Edited by Miguel Lechón on Reason: list formatting
I started following HMH back in December and my coding style has been rapidly mutating towards Casey's. He makes sense, what can I say.

Now, here's the problem. I started programming twenty years ago and, although the sorts of programs I've written over the years are nothing like videogames, I can't help feeling a bit hurt every time I renounce yet another long-held coding habit.

So I've tried rebelling a few times ("I'll do A, but I'm never doing B"), only to find out that once I embraced A, the set of trade-offs that made B unappealing shifted under my feet and turned my reluctance into an uphill battle.

Here's the story of my latest and most traumatic conversion. It just happened one hour ago:

Being pretty much sold on compression-oriented programming (A), I was happily hacking inside a 300-line function inside a doubly-nested loop, part of the scope of a case (kind of tame by Casey's standards, but hey, I'm getting there). In order to remain inside my 80-character row width limit (B*), I was starting to contort variable names, new-lines and pretty much everything I could get my hands on.
Doing that sort of thing once a day is not a big deal, but I was already jumping through that hoop maybe fifteen times a day and every change of gears from meaning to formatting messed with my focus big time. I just broke. I opened my .vimrc and edited a line that's been there for eleven years in order to allocate 120-character-wide buffers. It was that or going for single-letter variables.
Now, all my code looks like the tetris game of a patient of hemispatial neglect. There's so much room there that I want to hang pictures. I hope you're happy now, Casey.

* My self-imposed 80-character limit stemmed from:
- Using huge fonts to reduce eye fatigue
- Working mainly on smallish laptops