Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
Dafydd Brown
5 posts
Source code access
Hey,

To get the latest version of the source, do I have to just revisit the same link after placing my order? I hadn't made a bookmark, but thankfully I never clear my history :D

/* Offtopic */
Thanks for doing this whole series. It's very awesome and exactly what iv'e been looking for for a while now, but never had the time to deal with the nuts and bolts of such a low level approach.
I am a programmer (I work as an asp .net c#(rather easy to use) web app developer) but my passion has always been gfx (demo scene (coding gfx for the fun of it) type effects). For that type of stuff iv'e always relied on wrappers and libraries and obscure languages(such as Blitz Basic(i.k.r) and Freebasic) rather than directly accessing buffers and memory and all that jazz.

I've been trying to compile the code in VS C.13 but I can't seem to set it up correctly. I setup an empty win32 proj with empty everything, then added the source and headers, but when I try to buld, I just get a bunch of syntax errors mainly to do with the pointers to the typedefs such as

int16 *Samples;
error C2143: syntax error : missing ';' before '*'

Any idea what i'm doing wrong, or better still any chance of a solution :D or would you simple recommend doing it the way you setup. I was hoping to use VS as my editor as well as compiler (as I use it everyday for asp.net)

Thanks!

DB
Marco
10 posts
Source code access
Edited by Marco on
Yes, the link it's always the same. It gets updated with the new code shortly after the end of each stream. You should have the link also in the confirmation email that you received. Hopefully you haven't deleted that as well :)

For the build, I suggest you use the build.bat file provided with the code and use VS just for debug. If you really want to use VS, you might need to add some libraries in the project configuration for the linker to work correctly. I can have a look once I'm on my windows machine.