Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
Nines Baobaberson
37 posts
Pointer arithmetic vs array subscript
I am still somewhat new to pointer arithmetic. For our RenderWeirdGradient, for example, we fill the buffer by basically using a pointer we move across the memory (if I understand correctly). Say we wanted to fill just part of the buffer, my first thought is something like this:

for (int Y = StartY; Y < EndY; ++Y)
{
    for(int X = StartX; X < EndX; ++X)
    {
        ((uint32*)(Buffer->Memory))[(Y*Buffer->Width) + X] = Color;
    }
}

Thinking of the equivalent using pointer arithmetic did not come as quickly to me, but I ended up with something like this:

uint8 *Row = (uint8 *)Buffer->Memory;
Row += (StartY * Buffer->Pitch);
for (int Y = 0; Y < Height; ++Y)
{
    uint32 *Pixel = ((uint32*)(Row)) + StartX;
    for(int X = 0; X < Width; ++X)
    {
        *Pixel++ = Color;
    }
    Row += Buffer->Pitch;
}

I think I heard somewhere that [ ] in C is just literally shorthand for pointer arithmetic, but I'm not sure if that's actually true?

I guess I'm wondering if it's worth stumbling through the pointer arithmetic with these kinds of loops for educational purposes if nothing else. Are there any performance / design considerations with this kind of thing?

Curious to hear any thoughts. Thanks ^-^
Casey Muratori
801 posts / 1 project
Casey Muratori is a programmer at Molly Rocket on the game 1935 and is the host of the educational programming series Handmade Hero.
Assuming that there is no operator overloading going on, then yes, []'s in C generally just does the pointer arithmetic that would have happened. You can think of

Foo[X] = Y;

as being the same as

*(Foo + X) = Y;

There's really not much to it.

In general, performance concerns come more from whether you do incremental or absolute offsets... ie., if instead you do:

*Foo++ = Y;