Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
Dominik
10 posts
VirtualAlloc does not always get the memory?
Hey,

I'm following the stream on Youtube and I'm quite far behind with day 15. I'm a physics student, which means I'm not a developer - so bear with me. :)

On day 14 (I think) Casey wrote the VirtualAlloc with TransientStorage and PermanentStorage and set the size to 4Gb. I did that too, but the allocation used to fail with that much memory. (I'm working on a 64bit Win7 Laptop with 4Gb of RAM..)

So I reduced it to 3Gb and it works most of the time? Why is that?

I mean it allocates virtual memory, which is not physical memory but looks like real memory as far as my process/game is concerned. (Casey talked about that the OS does all that in the background)
So why when I use VisualStudio to debug, the Game exits because I dont get enough memory and literally seconds after that I restart it and it gets the 3Gb?

Ps: And why does Casey have a -DHANDMADE_WIN32=1 in his build script? I somehow missed why this is defined in the source code..
(I only use the -DHANDMADE_INTERNAL=1 -DHANDMADE_SLOW=1)
Benjamin Kloster
48 posts
That's the difference between reserving memory and committing it. Reserving with MEM_RESERVE just earmarks a chunk of the process's virtual memory space without actually backing it with physical memory. This can rarely fail, usually only when you try to reserve the same piece of memory twice. Committing memory with MEM_COMMIT asks the OS to go out and grab some physical memory, which obviously requires enough of it to be available.

I'm not sure why committing 3GB would sometimes work and sometimes won't for you. My guess would be that 3GB is close to the free memory after accounting for the OS and other processes running on your system, and some application temporarily uses a bit more memory, dropping your free space below 3GB.
Stefan
20 posts
DomsL.

I had the same issue on that day.