Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
2 posts
The power of pointers. Just starting out.
Hello. I am very new to programming in general. I'm using the Handmade Hero videos on Youtube plus some other videos and a book. The book lists pointers as an advanced topic, but I've been jumping around it as I need to in order to figure out what's going on with Handmade Hero as best I can. So I realize some may think I'm getting ahead of myself when trying to understand pointers to their fullest extent, but I don't mind trying to take it in.

My question is about pointers and how to get them to be as useful as they are supposed to be. Some of my confusion comes from the fact I can write this:

int Test;
int *TestPointer;
int ChangeMe;

Test = 50;
TestPointer = &Test;
ChangeMe = *TestPointer;

int Test2;
int ChangeMe2;

Test2 = 50;
ChangeMe2 = Test2;

I can achieve the same result using ChangeMe2 = Test2, so there must be something that's going way over my head when it comes to pointers.

If anyone could give me some tips in super laymens terms it would be appreciated. Even among the advanced topics, pointers seem to be the only thing that is causing me problems. So if I can get it in my head it would clear a big road block.

Thanks for your help.
Mārtiņš Možeiko
2562 posts / 2 projects
Edited by Mārtiņš Možeiko on
Well once you assign value to ChangeMe/ChangeMe2, there are really no differences what you do.

It's easier to show why pointers are useful with functions:
void f1(int Value)
{
  Value = 2;
}

void f2(int* Value)
{
  *Value = 2;
}

int X = 1;
f1(X);
printf("%d\n", X);
int* P = &X;
f2(P)
printf("%d\n", X);