Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
17 posts
Hi, I'm bewwys I'm a student at the 42 codingschool . I'm glad to be here. I'm a noob so please take care of me :)
XWindow System Game Rendering System
Edited by bewwys on
Hello everyone,
I'm currently learning X11 protocol and the xlib implementation of it and I love the concept of server/client app. If I'm understand correctly, with the X11 protocol I can actually create a crazy game rendering system which run in a remote client app and then displaying the actual content of the rendered game in a window frame managed by the server ? If I'm right it means I can run the witcher in a simple laptop (figure of speech).

But I have one more question. I was wondering if all the server did is to dispatch the actual rendered buffer to the video driver so it can be show up on the screen ?

Thank you everyone :)
Mārtiņš Možeiko
2559 posts / 2 projects
It's actually not so simple in context of games.

If you want to use hardware accelerated API such as OpenGL, then you don't want to use client/server model for rendering. This is known as indirect rendering and typically is much slower than alternative. What you typically want is direct rendering. This means that client is sending GL calls directly to driver bypass server. In this case server does not see what is being rendered at all.

Modern display servers, such as wayland, actually does not do any rendering (accelerated or not) - they require client to do all the rendering work and then only flips framebuffer for displaying it.
17 posts
Hi, I'm bewwys I'm a student at the 42 codingschool . I'm glad to be here. I'm a noob so please take care of me :)
Hmmm my first thought was that I can do all the rendering in a remote client (some crazy machine) and then send over the network the actual rendered buffer to the server (which is my laptop) in the purpose of displaying the buffer.