Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
3 posts
[b]How to use some C standard function without use C, C++ runtime.[/b]
Edited by BlackHatIsMe on
- Well, I was read this article and think I should share something to you guys:
[url=]https://hero.handmade.network/for...to_avoid_c_c++_runtime_on_windows[/url]
- When I was a system programmer, I hate so much to use the C, C++ runtime library because it's make users must be installed "Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable Package" or I will need to ship with that dlls in my program, it's huge enough and make program slower. It's stupid because I known when they develop the OS they maybe have some stuff like C standard functions or at least something like that.
- So at that time I decided to go inside the OS and look at something I need. I reverse some dlls (ntdll.dll, ntoskrnl.exe) and see what's happening inside the OS. They have all the basic functions I need and the some C, C++ runtime actually call it.
- You can just look the export functions inside dlls and don't need to reverse it with command on cmd like this:
dumpbin /exports C:\Windows\System32\ntdll.dll

dumpbin /exports C:\Windows\System32\ntoskrnl.exe

- The only one thing we need to do is get the ntdll.lib and ntoskrnl.lib. Windows SDK for windows 7 doens't ship with both, you can download WDK 7.1 and use that library. On newer Windows SDK, it has ntdll.lib but not ntoskrnl.lib, so you can maybe install newer WDK for get that lib or it can be found on the internet without others stub(I guess).
- You can also found on the internet or github some header files used with the Windows SDK to exploited the Native(NT OS) power concurrently with the Win32 API.
- The last thing but I think it's most important thing when you use ntdll, ntoskrnl on the user space: