Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
17 posts
Hi, I'm bewwys I'm a student at the 42 codingschool . I'm glad to be here. I'm a noob so please take care of me :)
[Question about good practice #1] Cast or not Cast ?
Edited by bewwys on Reason: Initial post
Hello everyone,

first of all I'm not a native english speaker so sorry in case of misspelling.

In my current practice I have the habit to use cast to work directly with the memory. But I heard that some peoples are considering that like a bad practice.

this is an example on the way I use casting:

void *ft_memchr(const void *ptr, int value, int num)
{
    int i;

i = 0;
    while (i < num)
    {
        if (*((char *)ptr + i) == value)
            return ((void *)((char *)ptr + i));
        i++;
    }
    return (0);
}

Like I said my primary goal is to work with memory in the way I want to. So using cast let me for example doing pointer arithmetic.

I don't understand why we need to be aware of casting when it can be really useful.

Thank you :)

Marc Costa
65 posts
Edited by Marc Costa on
There's nothing wrong with casting memory. Memory is just a bunch of bytes, it's up to you how you interpret them. It gets a little hairy when you use a C++ feature, though: inheritance. C++ has a bunch of casting operators to deal with different types of casting: static_cast, reinterpret_cast, dynamic_cast, etc...

reinterpret_cast is the same as a C-style cast, no checks, no guarantees. A static_cast will have some checks to make sure one type can be converted to the other one.

A dynamic_cast will use RTTI (Run Time Type Information) to safely cast through the inheritance chain (returns NULL if the cast is invalid). For example, a C-style cast will fail when casting between parents in a multiple inheritance situation.

In your example, I would probably ask why don't you pass a const char* ptr instead of a const void*, to avoid the cast inside the function, but there's nothing wrong with it.