Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
Luca Vignaroli
10 posts
Hello everyone! Just started following the series!
Hello guys,

first of all: a huge Thank You to Casey for doing this. I missed the C64/Amiga coding train when I was young, and then fell into the scripting wagon in 1995. These days as one might expect (and for the past 15+ years) I've been a web developer for a living. You have no idea how much I hoped in the past that this gift of knowledge could be given by someone that walked exactly the path you did back then.

I'd like to introduce myself, and ask a few questions!

To this day, I implemented my own engines (purely for the need of knowing and for fun) in JavaScript, C# and Java, in that order over the years, because I had to go from the language I was most familiar with, and free my brain from having to figure out HOW to implement a feature in good code, while learning what was needed to solve a specific problem (say path-finding in a grid with A*).

Every change of language was driven by the availability and quality of knowledge on the topics at hand (man, java programmers are into gaming! that language has the most amazing collection of good quality writing/tutorials/examples on how to accomplish almost anything when it comes to game engines).

My quest was one towards the freedom to turn my ideas into my own implementations, without compromising on performances and features. Every push forward always had me look at C with envy, when my ray caster implemented in C# or Java would under perform compared to say the one implemented in native code inside libraries like Box2D (same implementation, single threaded in all languages and external libs).

Before I started with your sessions I had a general idea of how things worked, but absolutely ZERO clue on how to wield the power of C/C++. I might be a strange case: