Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
6 posts
Day 021: issue with DEBUGPlatformReadEntireFile
Edited by Herc on
Hi all,

I'm new to this but I've been going at a good pace and haven't had too many problems, and the ones I had I was able to figure out. Anyway, after making it through the minutiae of audio debugging, I was soooo excited to do the dynamic loading and editing, but I've hit a problem I can't figure out.

I followed this episode very carefully and about 45 mins into the episode, when I run the code, I get an "Access violation executing location 0x00000000" exception when I hit the second line in this part of handmade.cpp.

char *Filename = __FILE__;
debug_read_file_result File = Memory->DEBUGPlatformReadEntireFile(Filename);

At this point, in the watch-window for Filename, I see:
[hex address] "h:\\code\\handmade.cpp"
I looked at the hex address in the register and it does point to h:\code\handmade.cpp, so the double backslashes are being handled properly and that seems fine.
Also when I do it this way (running until I hit the exception) in the watch window, Result and FileHandle (the first two things declared in DEBUGPlatformReadEntireFile) are listed as 'undefined'.

So I set the breakpoint at Filename = __FILE__ part, and after I get the Filename as above, I manually move into the DEBUG_PLATFORM_READ_ENTIRE_FILE(DEBUGPlatformReadEntireFile) call in the win32_handmade.cpp file, but when I do that, it changes the hex address of Filename, and the filename itself becomes blank. I wonder if that's because I jumped from one function to another maybe, but I don't see why.

debug_read_file_result Result = {};
HANDLE FileHandle = CreateFileA(Filename, GENERIC_READ, FILE_SHARE_READ, 0, OPEN_EXISTING, 0, 0);

When I step manually through this function, the first line correctly initializes both components of Result to 0.