Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
Sandy
7 posts
How Casey uses Headers and Source Files?
Edited by Sandy on
Hello, I am new to C/C++ and I have some doubts about the way Casey uses the headers and source files.

In most examples I have seen, people tend to use the .h file to declare stuff and usually, the header has some sort of include guards (#pragma once or #ifndef). Then the .cpp or .c file usually #includes its own header and defines de functions and stuff.

But Casey does it in a different way I think:
-He usually does not use include guards (#pragma once or #ifndef)
-He does not #includes the header in the source file
-He defines some functions in the header and other functions in the source files.
-He sometimes #includes .cpp and sometimes .h

could someone explain why?

thanks
Roman
9 posts
Been around ever since CPU's had 3 registers! (AtariXL800) That is a long time to stay a kid.
Casey uses a method called 'unity build', where there is only a single code file being compiled.
All the other files are essentially header files.

Now as far as compilers go, and files imported in the #include pragma are just inserted as is in the point where the pragma is set.
There is no (as far as I know) special consideration on what file type you are including, as long as it is text.
The compiler will just pull in the included files and expand its content.

The main reason to use this, is compilation speed, a compiler is by an order of magnitude much faster when compiling one huge code file vs. the school taught "modular" coding standard of multiple code and their dedicated header files.

As for multiple include guards, you don't need them in a properly constructed unity build because you don't have circular includes.
Each file should have a dependency only on files that are included before it.

Hope this helps.
Mārtiņš Možeiko
2559 posts / 2 projects
Edited by Mārtiņš Možeiko on