Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
Rafael Grossi
6 posts
Hi im trying to learn how to code?
Emacs quick question?
I'm pretty sure this isn't the best place.. maybe not even the right place??
to post this, but i'll give it a try since I've been searching for this info non-stop on Emacs wiki and only found non-working answers

A few notes before my question ::
Quick Notes
1- I'm not good with windows stuff (nor mac or linux if that matters at all) so im pretty sure i did the wrong command somewhere and its this that is causing my problem
2- I'm new to programming and such, take it easy please <3
3- English not my native language so might have a lot of typos/spelling and such

Info (Windows 8.1 64-bit - GNU EMACS 23.4.1)
Q:
I've download Emacs 23.4~ same as casey and I've been using this for sometime now, my .emacs are really close to his, I've only changed a few commands and the title settings to match the directory. The problem is: if i try to open(be it on terminal or not) a .txt or any archive that is set to be opened by Emacs instead of opening in a new "buffer"(i think this is the correct term?) it opens on a completely new instance which implies i have 1029381092832 emacs windows open =(

More Info:
1- i call emacs from terminal by a custom %PATH% set on a folder \custom_cmd , which has my .lnk and .bat
2- my default for .txt is emacs and was set using ftype/assoc
3- my emacs.bat
@echo off
"c:\path\to\emacs\runemacs.exe" %1

... I'm not really sure how to fix this? i've tried a bunch of stuff I've found on google/wiki

TL;DR
i just want to make sure emacs opens in a new frame instead of a new instance everytime i open a file outside emacs.

well thanks for reading this =]
11 posts
Emacs quick question?
Try this http://www.emacswiki.org/emacs/EmacsMsWindowsIntegration
Rafael Grossi
6 posts
Emacs quick question?
that was one of the first things i've tried.. didn't work sadly, it still loads files on new instances instead of a buffer within the open instace
11 posts