Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
30 posts
anonymous structs and Clang
Hi, folks.

I'm following along with the series, currently at day 042. Seeing as I have encountered anonymous unions/structs twice now, thought I'd ask.

I'm working on Mac OS X. I took this platform implementation as the base: https://github.com/vbo/handmadehero_osx_platform_layer. However, since I have zero knowledge of Objective-C and OS X API, I've rewritten the platform using SFML 2.4.

I am compiling using clang and the following piece of code gives errors:

typedef struct game_controller_input
{
    bool32 IsConnected;
    bool32 IsAnalog;
    real32 StickAverageX;
    real32 StickAverageY;

union
    {
        game_button_state Buttons[12];
        struct
        {
            game_button_state MoveUp;
            game_button_state MoveDown;
            game_button_state MoveLeft;
            game_button_state MoveRight;

game_button_state ActionUp;
            game_button_state ActionDown;
            game_button_state ActionLeft;
            game_button_state ActionRight;

game_button_state LeftShoulder;
            game_button_state RightShoulder;

game_button_state Back;
            game_button_state Start;

game_button_state Terminator;
        };
    };
} game_controller_input;

Error message:
./src/game_platform.h:168:9: error: anonymous structs are a GNU extension [-Werror,-Wgnu-anonymous-struct]
        struct
        ^
./src/game_platform.h:168:9: error: anonymous types declared in an anonymous union are an extension [-Werror,-Wnested-anon-types]

Here's how I compile:
/usr/bin/clang++ \
    ./src/main.cpp \
    -g \
    -Wall -Werror \
    -pedantic \
    -Wno-unused-variable -Wno-unused-function -Wno-deprecated-declarations \
    -DGAME_INTERNAL=1 -DGAME_SLOW=1 \
    -lsfml-window -lsfml-system -lsfml-graphics -lsfml-audio -lstdc++ \
    -std=c++11 \
    -o ./build/game