Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
Ben Anderson
4 posts
Day 023 Looped Live Code- use of fixed base address for game memory
Hi All, I'm new to HH and the forum (and to C!).

This may have previously been answered but I can't find it.

On Day 023 the point was made that the looped live code only worked because we had a fixed virtual base address (2TB) as below:

#if HANDMADE_INTERNAL
            LPVOID BaseAddress = (LPVOID)Terabytes(2);
#else
            LPVOID BaseAddress = 0;
#endif

I'm struggling to understand why - given that the VirtualAlloc will return the address to the Win32State regardless:

Win32State.GameMemoryBlock = VirtualAlloc(BaseAddress, (size_t)Win32State.TotalSize,
                                                 MEM_RESERVE|MEM_COMMIT, PAGE_READWRITE);

So it would seem the game DLL when loaded would always get a correct pointer to this base address despite the fact that the address may vary each time the game is started. The same would go for the writing and reading of the memory block to disk.

I understand that if a pointer was referencing a particular memory location and the contents moved to a different location that this would break the code - but I can't see how this happens?

I'm sure I'm missing something so any comments or examples would be great.

Thanks everyone.

Ben

511 posts
The real reason is to get consistent pointer values each time the game is restarted.

This helps a lot when debugging as you can put the (casted) pointer in the watch window and get the same object back after restarting.
Ben Anderson
4 posts

Thanks for the reply!

I understand that this is a good reason to use the fixed base and that the looped debugging in the watch window would be pretty painful otherwise.

Do you know of any reason that the day 023 code wouldn't actually run properly without the fixed base assigned in the win32 layer?

Cheers

Ben
511 posts
Ben J Anderson

Thanks for the reply!