Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
Jim Drury
3 posts
Why are we not using Object Oriented Programming?
This may have been answered in a Stream that I missed, or have not gotten to yet, but since we're using C++ why are we programming in strictly a Procedural manner? I am a terrible programmer, but I really like OOP programming, it just makes sense to me.

Thank you,

Omer
11 posts
There is no reason to use OOP.
Javier Flores
3 posts
OOP culture promotes bad practices, you should be thinking about the data you are working on and how to transform it so it does the actual "thing" that you want.

A good explanation of why this is bad in game code and a explanation of an alternative more simple and straightforward way to do things can be found here:

http://mollyrocket.com/casey/stream_0019.html

that been said i do use a certain amount of very basic OOP for the things i do. but most of the time i think is better to avoid it.
Jim Drury
3 posts
javier,

Well I feel thoroughly chastised after reading that. I did 2 years as a CS major before moving on to other things and I never even thought to question what I was thought in school about OOP. While I still think OOP looks pretty and I enjoy it's logic, it really can be amazingly inefficient.

Thanks for the reply and link.
José De Gouveia
4 posts
Edited by José De Gouveia on
I don't know if OOP is less optimal or not, but i like OOP concept of group code in classes , feels more cleaner and easy to understand, and probably we can do all that just with structs,

but im definelty agree with casey of all those buch of classes like the Person, Manager, contractor example that makes no sense ,

i think we can use it in some degree
2 posts
Edited by kbailey on
The simple way to put my problem with OOP is that it is "noun based" instead of "verb based".

A verb is really a relationship between nouns, and in OOP it's hard to say to which object the relationship belongs.