Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
117 posts
Code hacker/developer
First shot at Multithreading
Edited by Todd on
I've watched a couple of the Multithreading HH episodes, but this is my first time actually implementing it. This is in C#, but it's pretty clear what I'm trying to do:

This entire program does several things with prime numbers, but the part I'm going to post is mainly focused with printing out all prime numbers starting at a high number all the way until it reaches 1. This was not originally intended to be a multi-threaded program, but I wanted to check out some large numbers (I actually have an overload that takes a BigInteger type I will eventually use) and I was watching the computer get bogged down whilst only using 20% of the CPU. In comes multithreading.

public void printAllPrimes(int number)
            {
                Console.WriteLine(
                    isItPrime(number)
                        ? "{0} is prime. Below are all prime numbers between it and 1:\n"
                        : "{0} is not prime but below are all prime numbers between it and 1:\n", number);

int holder = number;

while (--holder > 1){
                        if (isItPrime(holder))
                            Console.WriteLine("{0} \t Thread {1}", holder, Thread.CurrentThread.ManagedThreadId);
                }
            }

public bool isItPrime(int number)
            {
                if (number <= 1){ 
                    return false;
                }
                //We don't want to decrement the number because we need it for the comparisons, so we use holder.
                int holder = number;

while (--holder > 1){
                    //Divisible = divide by a number and get no remainder.
                    if (number % holder == 0){
                        return false;
                    }

}
                return true;
            }

static void Main(string[] args)
            {
                Program program = new Program();