Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
ambiguous panda
11 posts
asm development environment
Edited by ambiguous panda on
can anyone recommend an asm tool chain for building from windows, i am currently using the GNU Assembler from MinGW with emacs, with no debugging, the default debugger that comes with MinGW is ridiculous.

also, how realistic is asm for games, i have manage to port 50% of handmade hero but am wondering how practical will this be when the code becomes more complex

i am not a fan of emacs, but its the best tool i can find for asm with fancy things like syntax highlighting.

Visual Studios has an asm plugin, but it cant be used with the express version. the usertype.dat solution just plain dont work anymore, and it can only compile masm which is not cross platform.
Patrick Lahey
67 posts
I'm not a professional game developer so I can't speak specifically to games but I can tell you in other domains where performance and careful control over resources is important (like scientific computing and simulation) asm is not used extensively. Assembly tends to take longer to write and to be harder to modify than code in C or C++. The trade off is just not worth it for the vast majority of the code base. In many cases the CPU is not even the primary bottle neck - it is feeding it the data that it needs to crunch.

As an educational exercise, learning assembly is great and it can help you even when you are writing C and C++. I would not call writing everything in assembly a practical choice these days, however.
70 posts
innovation through irritation™
Edited by d7samurai on
You don't need to use the Express version anymore:

November 12, 2014