Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
Shazan Shums
159 posts
Some day I will make quality software. Programming FTW.
Programming , Databases and $$$Finance$$$
I am just starting into programming and I have no prior experience in programming jobs or any job.(I'm still 18 and searching for a job.) And I have question in my head that always pops up ,
What is the use of having SQL and DBMS and all those stuff which I don't understand?
Is it a must to have SQL in all finance apps?
And this is a incident which happened to me ,
Once I went to book shop to purchase some stationary then I gave the stuff to the counter then the cashier started to bill.
Suddenly then I wanted to check to see if a book was available so I gave the book title and author. The cashier typed the words into the search box and then computer froze for a second.And the program quit stating some error I think. Then the technical guy came to scene and said that the database and the server got crashed and he said
Good thing we got a backup.
But he said that the cashier is closed for now and you can get a handwritten bill for now.But Anyway they had to feed the data to the server anyway.
Is this how DBMS work or bad programming or bad design or What????
Please Note I have no prior experience in programming related jobs so I might be incorrect. So please don't start scolding me.
Abner Coimbre
320 posts
Founder
msmshazan
So please don't start scolding me.

We have Community Guidelines in effect, so no one should be scolding anybody.
33 posts
msmshazan
Is it a must to have SQL in all finance apps?

In general, be weary of absolutes. "Must have", "in all", etc. In technology, we play a game of trade-offs. The amount of silver bullet solutions in technology are extremely small, and often don't address interesting problems.

Obviously, in your circumstance, something unintentional happened. That specific instance doesn't comment on the broader world of DBMS. :)