Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
117 posts
Code hacker/developer
VS vs. Code::Blocks for Windows C AND Chasing memory
Edited by Todd on
So I'm trying to get the best, most fully-featured C experience on Windows (10) and I come from C# development so I am used to Visual Studio. However, I didn't really like having to essentially use Visual Studio's C++ environment to develop C. For example, I was having serious input buffer issues and when I switched to Code::Blocks that all stopped.

That said, of course as a C newbie, I'm chasing some nasty memory bugs around and on the stream, Casey showed some very powerful stuff for doing this on his Intro to C on Windows tutorials but they are Visual Studio. It appears as though Casey is actually developing from a C++ environment but only using C, however, I have had people tell me not to do that because there can be conflicts and such.

That said, if you HAD to develop in C on Windows (like I do), what is the best IDE and best way to hunt down memory issues? I am open to whatever suggestions you have.

Of course in C#, I would throw down breakpoints, and exceptions such as a NullReferenceException would be thrown when I did something like try to use an "object" that was not yet instantiated.

Some things I have tried in Codeblocks is I was able to get the below output for the program (pictured) which basically says the memory I am trying to access is not accessible but it is somewhat strange as the only thing that has happened between when the memory was accessible to when it is not, is that a function was called, even though the pointers are indeed global.

Anyway, the point of this post is not this specific problem, but rather any tips you have, IDE, or otherwise, to squash memory-related bugs on Windows? Mainly because I feel this will be the hardest part for me coming into C from languages such as C# and JavaShit. Erm... Did I say that??

Thanks.

Marc Costa
65 posts