Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
5 posts
Following along on Mac OS
Edited by jish on
Hello,

I've been a professional developer for about 10 years now so I am not new to programming, but I am very new to game development.

Also, I only have a laptop running Mac OS.

My question is:
Is there a good way to follow along with this series on Mac OS?

* I found this repo on GitHub which aims to use all of the same C++ code, https://github.com/itfrombit/osx_handmade is that a good idea?
* Should I be trying to find Xcode tutorials and learning that first?
* Is there some other solution that I do not know about, that I should be pursuing instead?

Or is developing on Mac OS just a terrible idea? Here be dragons, turn around now?

Any opinions, feedback, or direction would be appreciated.

Well, onto the next video. :)
16 posts
Based in Japan. Building a fully featured music production system with a twist.
Edited by Kapsy on
Hi jish,

I'm up to episode 62 using OSX, so I'll give you my 2c from where I am:

My question is:
Is there a good way to follow along with this series on Mac OS?

Once you get to episode 26, it's all engine and the platform layer largely becomes irrelevant (I'm pretty sure it's visited later on however).

* I found this repo on GitHub which aims to use all of the same C++ code, https://github.com/itfrombit/osx_handmade is that a good idea?

itfrombit/osx_handmade is excellent - I also found it useful for pointing me in the right direction. I also tried to use the native C BSD libs wherever I could, over the Objective-C ones --- it's not going to hurt to use Objective-C, but I was no longer interested in learning it as a language so I tried to avoid it where possible. You can find my repo at https://github.com/kapsy/handmade_osx --- it's not as polished as itfrombit/osx_handmade, but it does some things differently which might help to give another perspective.