Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
Shazan Shums
159 posts
Some day I will make quality software. Programming FTW.
How to avoid OOP
I am a beginner in programming and when I look at code online like library code and github code.They are full of OOP and C++ stuff like serialization, inheritance, polymorphism,abstraction, templating and all those stuff which I don't understand.
How to avoid this since I heard that OOP is bad for performance.
I would like to know how to convert OOP code to performance oriented code.I am a beginner so can you provide more detailed explanation.
Thanks.
25 posts
None
How to avoid OOP
Edited by hugo on
You could show us a project you have done that you want to improve the design.

This playlist is also very on the topic you're worried: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?...Ltg36xKlu60wk3buYHvAdtSbqPsvNgUDV
This video has interesting criticism of OOP abuse: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q...Ltg36xKlu60wk3buYHvAdtSbqPsvNgUDV

But in the end "you can write bad code in any style." Try watching the whole Handmade Hero series...

Cheers!
Jesse
64 posts
Programmer at NASA GSFC
How to avoid OOP
Be aware that transforming OOP code into something more machine centric is not a task for a beginner. It requires knowing both how OOP and how code that utilizes your machine well works!

I addition to hugo's videos, I encourage you watch Casey's intro to C stream and the accompanying Q&A. Then, start programming out problems you enjoy solving with the hardware in mind.

Good luck!
39 posts / 1 project
How to avoid OOP
msmshazan
I am a beginner in programming and when I look at code online like library code and github code.They are full of OOP and C++ stuff like serialization, inheritance, polymorphism,abstraction, templating and all those stuff which I don't understand.
How to avoid this since I heard that OOP is bad for performance.