Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
117 posts
Code hacker/developer
C Programming Resources/Algorithms
So I'm having an interesting time finding specific C programming resources... I think it's because "C Programming" in general sort of includes C# and C++... So I end up finding C++, C#, and other resources rather than C-specific resources. I did find this post which is probably the most comprehensive that I've found thus far. Other than that, is there much differentiation between C/C++ these days or are you basically using C++ without the OOP parts? I'm a current C# programmer and I'm really trying to break into the C world because I find the low-levelness fascinating.

Second question is, how important is formal training in algorithms? I just started the MIT Open Courseware Algorithms course, complete with the 1300 page textbook. It's quite an undertaking since I haven't done any college-level math in about 6 years, however, it is doable... But will take considerable time. Is this time well spent for a software developer? Thanks.
Abner Coimbre
320 posts
Founder
Edited by Abner Coimbre on Reason: Added concrete advice.
Todd
I'm a current C# programmer and I'm really trying to break into the C world because I find the low-levelness fascinating.

Hey Todd,

It's superb you find it fascinating. To test that interest, you could venture into programming in something with a strong correspondence between language and processor family machine instructions (i.e. asm). Pick a friendly chip like MIPS or 6502, perhaps Z80 and study just enough to get a solid feeling of the basics: stuff like machine cycles, knowing an instruction rate against clock speed, playing with register values, jumping to specific addresses, I/O controllers on the bus, why device drivers exist, etc. Anything that'll improve your fundamental knowledge of computers. To quote an ASM author: