Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
8 posts
None
Monitors and Color
Let's talk about how different monitors display color.

I am a programmer making a game with an artist colleague. I am writing OpenGL code on my Linux dev machine and he is making art assets in Photoshop on his Macbook. We notice very early that our monitors output noticeably different colors by comparing side-by-side with the same image, with image preview software, and our monitors at max brightness. My colors are bright and more washed-out, while his are much darker but more intense. It's a significant and immediately noticeable difference, but we don't think much of it at first. However, at some point we realize we want a dramatic lighting system that looks good but also influences the how the game is played. Naturally we start to worry about how we're going to develop this lighting when we don't even have a canonical display to compare results with.

Fear not, I say, let me implement Gamma Correction like I saw on HH and all our problems will go away! I took quite a while to rewatch those episodes and read many blog posts and tutorials, and I finally got it working. However, implementing gamma correction did absolutely nothing to bring my monitor's output closer to the artist's.

I looked into it some more and found that many people in the photography industry buy devices called colorimeters with accompanying software that supposedly calibrates your monitors. Most are crazy expensive but some seem to go as low as $100.

Now here is the million dollar question: What can I actually do as a developer? The way I see it, there are two paths to go down.