Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
Kevin
4 posts
None
Expanding Polytope Algorithm in 3D Confusion.
Edited by Kevin on Reason: Abner: Fixed broken links.
Hello, I am currently trying to implement the Expanding Polytope Algorithm in 3D space using a resulting simplex from the GJK algorithm and I am failing. If someone could please point me in the right direction I would appreciate it.

I have followed the Handmade Hero Twitch stream since the beginning (I admit to missing about 1/4 of the streams) but this is my first time visiting the forums. So I apologize if this post is inappropriate by the fact that it does not directly pertain to the Handmade Hero game. I tried to find a code of conduct for posting on the forums but I did not find one. However, I did notice other posts with general coding questions so I am assuming this is an acceptable post.

Most of my knowledge of the algorithm has come from this tutorial:
http://www.dyn4j.org/2010/05/epa-expanding-polytope-algorithm/

I am also assuming that my implementation of the GJK algorithm works and it follows Casey's version here:
https://mollyrocket.com/849

My main problem is that I am having trouble visualizing my code to find out what is going on. Currently I am trying to debug by displaying the resulting face's normal vector to tell if it is in the correct direction and it seems to only sometimes be in the correct direction depending on the collision point.

Here is the correct normal when standing on a platform with only gravity acting as an external force to the object:

Here is the incorrect normal when i take a few steps to the left:

Here is the current state of my code:

Note: The MinkowskiSupport function is the same support function I used for the GJK algorthm. Both the GJK algorithm and the MinkowskiSupport function appear to work as they should, so I have not posted them to keep the code shorter. Also, v3 is a vector with three float values.

struct SupportPoint
{
	v3 MinkowskiPoint;
	v3 ObjAPoint;