Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
4 posts
None
Day 001: Noobie with Visual Studio and having a rather large issue
Edited by DCoward on
Hey all

I'm new to Visual Studio, the forums, and HMH!

This is my first post, but it's a fairly urgent one, in that I need to know what I'm doing wrong to continue at all in the way Casey is showing us.

(As a side note: I'm not totally foreign to code/coding -- I actually have a fairly good grasp of basic things, as well as a lot of general command line function overall)

My setup:
Windows 10
Visual Studio 2015 Community Edition (I explain later, but I also now have 2013 Community Edition and have since deleted 2015)
Sublime Text 3

Problem:
So I've followed both the video (I watched it all the way through once, and relooked at specific parts a bunch) and the notes attached to it. I have now mostly followed the written notes, and I think I noticed a few differences between notes and video (maybe that is part of the issue), but overall I'm to the point now where Casey is using the devenv call and loading it up into VS and running/debugging, and I can't. For whatever reason, I can do the devenv command and VS opens, but no matter what, despite the .cpp file displaying correctly, I'm unable to build/run. Nothing happens. I don't get a dummy solution.

I did research and unfortunately I didn't really find much except a few things here and there that suggested that I may need to load it up into a project to run at all, so I tried that. I tried lots of different project types, and that didn't work. So, rather drastically, I jsut decided "Screw it" and switched out 2015 for 2013 -- still Community Version -- to really be on the same material aside from Emacs, and the exact same issues still occur.

So now I am vitally stuck where I have all of the stuff, but none of the proof, because I can't actually see that anything I've done is correct.

I'd love it if someone could weigh in and tell me what I'm doing wrong!