Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
Mike Jackson
15 posts
I'm a contract web developer living in London. I'm interested in understanding things from first principles.
When to use libraries
This is a question mainly posed to Casey, but anyone with significant programming experience is welcome to chip in.

What is your thought process when you have to make a decision to write something yourself from scratch or to use an existing library (e.g. SDL)?

Given the recent embarrassing npm left-pad situation, we can kind of see what happens when reuse is taken to the extreme. The other side of the coin, is if everyone rewrote everything from scratch, there would also be a tremendous amount of wasted effort and time cost.

Obviously, writing things from scratch can serve as an excellent way to learn (which are why most of us are here), but I assume that in practice people have to weigh the pros and cons of each dependency somehow.
511 posts
When to use libraries
The problem with leftpad is that people are using libraries for single functions that really belong in a larger string processing library
Casey Muratori
801 posts / 1 project
Casey Muratori is a programmer at Molly Rocket on the game 1935 and is the host of the educational programming series Handmade Hero.
When to use libraries
Generally speaking, I like programming so I tend not to use libraries. I'd rather write the code myself. I rarely find any libraries that couldn't be dramatically improved in terms of their design, so most of the time I don't find it to be "wasted work" to write a better one.