Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
Israel Fernández Angullo
16 posts
Visual Studio DLL Compiler Nightmare (Week 5)
Edited by Israel Fernández Angullo on Reason: grammar edit
Hello Everyone!

I'm struggling with week's 5 episodes.
I'm new at C programming and all the DLL, compile switches, and above all, Visual Studio configuration problems that I'm having are sinking my moral to the point that I'm close to surrender.

I'm working with Visual Studio as an IDE. I thought that if I was going to learn a new IDE better if it was one industry standard. Also is Casey's debbuger choice. So if i use another IDE I will need to learn 2 different softwares (plus C plus some C++).
My project was created as an empty project (not makefile) and so far I've been changing all the necessary in the "Solution Properties" and "Project Properties" and "File Properties" to make it work. I wasn't using the build.bat file but I managed to compile with all the switches, warning levels, etc.. same as Casey.
All was fine and dandy until day 21.

I watched and rewatched day 21,22,23, I've searched google and this forum. I've tried to make a new Solution with the makefile template but I can't figure out what the **** i'm supossed to do with the wizzard. I don't even understand the diference between a blank solution and a MakeFile solution.
So , after too many hours of dispair (+20) I beg you to help me. As I've said. I'm new with Visual Studio (and C) and I'm regretting the decision to use it at all (VS).

I think I'm missing something fundamental.
As I understand if I'm in a windows computer that has a C compiler I can run a .bat file with a proper order to the compiler (cl-) and compile wathever I want.
In this project I have to compile two different translation units. The platform layer (win32_handmade.cpp) and the actual game code (handmade.cpp). Each one of them includes their headers files.