Handmade Hero»Forums»Game
11 posts
Can I learn how to make game engine with handmade hero while using some other language (C#)
Edited by david009 on
Hi, I'm a beginner programmer and I've been learning coding in C# for past couple of months. Recently I've started using Unity, and I'm a little dissatisfied with not having as much control over the program as I had while I would be making console applications in C#, and not knowing a lot of times what the program is actually doing with a lot of my code. I figured it would be a good thing for me to try to learn about game engines and how they are made and work with this series, but learning another language in this stage, I think, would only make a mess in my head. So is it doable (or wise) to follow along these videos and try to replicate these concepts by coding in C#?

Edit: At this stage I don't except to be able to make a game on my own game engine, just to understand game engines better so I would be able to manipulate Unity as much as I can, and therefore have more control and make better games int it. But I also want to continuously learn and maybe be able to really make my own engine someday.
101 posts
Can I learn how to make game engine with handmade hero while using some other language (C#)
Edited by pragmatic_hero on
Do you want to make game engines or do you want to make games? (or do you want to end up in the *games industry*?)
If you want to make games - What kind of game(s) do you want to make?
11 posts