Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
8 posts
Why use a unity build?

I’m aware of the basic concept of a unity build and how it’s supposed to increase compilation time by reducing the amount of files compiled by #including everything into one .c file. And I am aware that Casey follows this. However I’m still a beginner and I’m trying to learn about c and in the book I read it said that it is best practice for data abstractions to be separated by public interface (.h) and private implementation (.c) so my question is is there any other benefit to using a unity build, and is it worth using a unity build over organizing the file structure in the way that the book I read said?

Mārtiņš Možeiko
2559 posts / 2 projects
Why use a unity build?

That's the only goal of doing unity build - increased compilation speed.

There are some other advantages for optimized builds, for example, compiler can now inline across all functions which would not be possible if they are in different TU's. Although this is not a very important reason - as there are ways to do this in normal builds too, like inline functions or LTO.

The bigger disadvantage of unity builds is slower incremental builds. Sometimes if you include larger 3rd party libraries like stb image, or dear imgui, or sqlite and similar, then your incremental build times can go crazy high compared to building with separate TU's. In separate TU case those 3rd party source files will be built just once and .obj files reused when you're changing only your code.

217 posts
Why use a unity build?
Replying to mmozeiko (#26790)

Although this is not a very important reason - as there are ways to do this in normal builds too, like inline functions or LTO.

What did you mean by "inline functions"? You just said it's not possible to inline across all functions.

Also, What usually does a ".obj" file contain that makes it un-inlinable?

Mārtiņš Možeiko
2559 posts / 2 projects
Why use a unity build?
Edited by Mārtiņš Možeiko on