Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
11 posts
Does anyone know any books that cover memory management schemes/strategies?
Edited by VROOM on Reason: Initial post
When I started learning C, I got taught to just call malloc and free everywhere and not worry about where memory comes from. When I went to university, they told me that's wrong and that I should use STL everywhere, adopt RAII for everything else, and not dirty my hands with memory if I can avoid it. After that, I got a job in web development (there's barely a software industry where I live), so memory doesn't even exist as a concept most of time (unless you OOM the interpreter/virtual machine, then memory suddenly becomes real).

So far in my programming life, memory management has always been presented as something difficult/dangerous that should be avoided altogether. So, I've never had the chance to develop an understanding of the strategies one can employ to manage memory. Before watching Handmade Hero, I didn't even think you could manage memory any other way than to grab pages from the OS and then hand off memory to the rest of the application by implementing your own version of a general purpose allocator (and maybe you don't want to implement your own, because it will become just as complex as all the other implementations).

Casey opened my eyes to the fact that, if you can bound the memory requirements in some way, you can implement a memory management scheme that's simple to understand/debug/profile and barely has to do any work. You can do this by answering a few questions:
  • Do you have fixed sized allocations or do you need to allocate variable sized data each time?
  • Do you know the max number of structs you would want to allocate at compile or runtime before you start allocating?
  • Do you know the lifetime of the things you want to allocate?
  • Do you know the order you will do the allocations in/traverse the allocated structs/deallocate the memory?