Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
11 posts
Animation frame rate vs game frame rate
Hi, I stumbled upon a problem that I can't find a solution nowhere on the net, so I thought maybe people here can help. I'm a beginner programmer and recently I started implementing my animations into code. The problem is I animate in 24fps, and when I try to run an animation in 30 or 60 game fps since 24 is not a factor of 30 or 60, animation, depending on my code, either gets forced to a 30 animation fps which makes it 25% longer, or some of the animation frames gets drawn twice to make up for the remainder of frames that you get when you divide with 24. Every code tutorial I found does this and while some people acknowledge it, nobody really seems to care that animations get a little messed up. I'm a 2d artist and I know that 3d guys just do it in 30 animation fps so there's no problem, but for 2d it's really hard to work in 30, since it's not that dividable and it's just tedious. Is there a workaround around this or is it just mathematically impossible?

Also, is it ok to post questions like this unrelated specifically to the handmade hero project?
511 posts
One way is to blend between the frames as needed. In fact most animation you see today is really just blends between keyframes.

Though that requires that you can actually blend between the frames. With poses and mathematical effects that's easy with hand-drawn sketches not so much.
Casey Muratori
801 posts / 1 project
Casey Muratori is a programmer at Molly Rocket on the game 1935 and is the host of the educational programming series Handmade Hero.
This has actually been a longstanding (and unsolvable, by definition) problem in frame-based animation, so you're not alone. For example:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Three-two_pull_down