Handmade Hero»Forums»Code
Mike Jackson
15 posts
I'm a contract web developer living in London. I'm interested in understanding things from first principles.
Worth Learning Build Tools?
I'm pretty new to the stream but I was interested in the fact that Casey uses such a lean build script.

I agree with his argument that well, optimizing the build of my project has such marginal benefits and consumes so much time via maintenance and updating that it's not worth the effort.

As a non C/C++ developer I was alway kind of taken aback by the degree of sophistication of Makefiles in the projects I would look at. That being said, I'm looking at a lot of open source clones of games and almost all tend to use some sort of build tool, typically CMake.

To anyone who works in C/C++ professionally, what are your thoughts on the value of learning something like CMake? Is it necessary if you want to contribute to open source projects? Is CMake currently the most common build tool or is there something else that I should be looking at?

Thanks in advance.
43 posts / 1 project
You should probably know CMake, as much as i hate it, you kinda need to know it to build dependencies sometimes
ndh
Andreas Haferburg
2 posts
As someone working with CMake professionally for the last 5 years I can tell you that my hatred for CMake knows no bounds. It is a very, very poorly designed language with horrible syntax and an API which excels only at displaying how little thought went into it. It is definitely the worst language I have ever had to deal with. For the sake of your mental health I would recommend you stay away from it as much as you can, especially in your free time.

Oh, and there is no good build system for C/C++.

Alright. So much for the rant.